Commission on Aging

VIEW AGENDAS / ACTION MINUTES Amended: November 19, 2019
Committee Type Community Advisory Standing Committee
Created September 1975; Reactivated February 4, 1992
Official Action Resolution No. 75-127 (establishing commission); Resolution No. 92-25; Resolution No. 19-142 (amended membership composition)
Definition/Purpose Provides input and recommendations regarding City policies, priorities and feedback related to the health and wellness of seniors in the community.
Committee Composition Up to 9 Members:
1 Community Member
1 Resident (94608)
7 Residents
An odd number of members from the greater Emeryville community - no fewer than 5, no more than 9 - who shall reflect the diversity of the City as to neighborhood of residence and ethnicity.
Committee Facts Committee members shall receive no compensation. However, members may receive reimbursement for actual expenses incidental to carrying out the duties of the office, provided that they have first received specific City Council authorization for, and can verify, the expenditure and its purpose. City of Emeryville elected officials may not serve on this Committee. The City of Emeryville does not specifically prohibit concurrent service on more than one committee, provided, however, that the Government Code prohibition against incompatible offices shall apply. If a request were made to serve on more than one committee, a determination would be made as to whether that service would be allowable.
Term(s) 4 Years, Staggered (expiring June 30)
Regular Meeting Monthly
2nd Wednesday
10:00 AM
Senior Center (4321 Salem Street Emeryvile)
Vice Chairperson
Baruch Golden
Yvonne Behrens
Secretary Kim Burrowes, Adult Services Supervisor
City Council Liaison Council Member Dianne Martinez
  1. Yvonne Behrens, Resident (Term ending June 30, 2020)
  2. Celeste Burrows, Resident (Term ending June 30, 2020)
  3. Baruch Golden, Resident (Term ending June 30, 2023)
  4. Maureen Hogan, Community Member (Term ending June 30, 2021)
  5. Louis Labat, Resident (Term ending June 30, 2023)
  6. Stephen Shane, Resident (Term ending June 30, 2021)
  7. Joan Strasser, Resident (94608) (Term ending June 30, 2023)
  8. Vacant, Resident (Term ending June 30, 2023)
  9. Vacant, Resident (Term ending June 30, 2023)
Contact the Committee
Other Staff Community Services Director