Oversight Board

Under ABx26, the State law that abolished all redevelopment agencies, the city as Successor Agency to the Emeryville Redevelopment Agency is charged with winding down the operations of the Agency. This process of winding down the redevelopment agency is subject to review by a County-level Oversight Board.

Under ABx26, the Oversight Board’s primary responsibility is to approve all of the proposed payments on the Recognized Obligation Payment Schedule (ROPS) submitted by the city as Successor Agency. The ROPS is the basis by which the Oversight Board will determine what property tax based revenue the city will receive to conduct its role as successor agency.  ROPS payments include obligations such as bond debt service as well as contractual obligations for existing economic development, asset maintenance, and capital improvement projects. Obligations that are not approved by the Oversight Board will not be enforceable (such as for work that was planned and approved but not yet started) and will have to be funded with City General Fund monies in order to take place.  Any remaining assets of the defunct Redevelopment Agency are then to be handed over to the County Auditor for disbursement to the taxing entities providing services in Emeryville.

AB 26x provides that the Oversight Board include consisting of the following: (1) one member appointed by the Mayor/City Council; 2) one member appointed by the County Board of Supervisors; (3) one member appointed by AC Transit, the largest special district by property tax share with territory in the city (4) one member appointed by the County Superintendent of Education, (5) one member appointed by the Chancellor of the California Community Colleges; (6) one member of the public appointed by the County Board of Supervisors; and one member selected from the former employees of the Emeryville Redevelopment Agency. The respective appointees to the City of Emeryville Oversight Board are:

  1. Dianne Martinez, Council Member 
  2. John Gooding, Emery Education Fund President/Emeryville resident (Vice Chair)
  3. Aisha Brown, Alameda County Board of supervisor Keith Carson, Senior Staff
  4. Greg Harper, AC Transit Board Member
  5. Michael Parenti, City of Emeryville Director of Information Technology
  6. Susan Rinne, Interim Vice Chancellor of Finance and Administration, Peralta Community College District
  7. Melodi Dice - EUSD Board of Trustees, Vice President
The Oversight Board’s regular scheduled meetings are on the 2nd and 4th Tuesdays of the month, starting at 5:30 p.m. and are held in City Council Chambers, Emeryville Civic Center, 1333 Park Avenue. Oversight Board meetings are broadcast live and rebroadcast (check programming schedule) on ETV: Cable Television Station 27 and podcast live/archived through the city’s website. Downloadable Board agendas and related staff reports / documents are available starting the Friday before the scheduled Board meeting and are also archived through city’s website homepage (see right hand box).

Videos / Agendas
Document Archive