Housing Committee

Meeting Agendas Audio Recordings Action Minutes
Amended: December 10, 2018
Committee Type Community Advisory Standing Committee
Created January 16, 1990
Official Action City Council Motion; Resolution No. 18-35 (amend Committee membership composition); Resolution No. 18-169 (amended Committee membership composition)
Definition/Purpose Provide input and recommendation regarding City policies, priorities and feedback related to the City’s housing policies and programs.
Committee Composition Up to 9 Members:
  • 2 Business Representatives
  • 7 Community Members
Committee Facts Committee members shall receive no compensation. However, members may receive reimbursement for actual expenses incidental to carrying out the duties of the office, provided that they have first received specific City Council authorization for, and can verify, the expenditure and its purpose. City of Emeryville elected officials may not serve on this Committee. The City of Emeryville does not specifically prohibit concurrent service on more than one committee, provided, however, that the Government Code prohibition against incompatible offices shall apply. If a request were made to serve on more than one committee, a determination would be made as to whether that service would be allowable.
Term(s) 2 Years, Staggered (expiring June 30)
Regular Meeting Every Two Months
1st Wednesday of January, March, May, July, September and November
6:00 PM
Civic Center (1333 Park Avenye, Emeryville)
Vice Chairperson
Ed Treuting
Henry Symons
Secretary Catherine Firpo, Housing Coordinator
City Council Liaison Council Member John J. Bauters
510- 596-4376
  1. Lawrence Cardoza, Community Member (Term ending June 30, 2020)
  2. Ryan Greenberg, Community Member (Term Ending June 30, 2020)
  3. Evan Lovett-Harris, Community Member (Term Ending June 30, 2020)
  4. Marchelle Huggins, Community Member (Term ending June 30, 2020)
  5. Gisela (Kris) Owens, Community Member (Term Ending June 30, 2019)
  6. Vickie Jo Sowell, Business Representative (Term ending June 30, 2019)
  7. Whitney Rubin, Community Member (Term ending June 30, 2019)
  8. Henry Symons, Community Member (Term ending June 30, 2019)
  9. Ed Treuting, Community Member (Term ending June 30, 2020)
Contact the Committee hc@emeryville.org
Other Staff Economic Development & Housing Manager